Author Topic: Blue Monday  (Read 4684 times)

Online Maik

• Administrator
  • Forum Deity
Blue Monday
« on: Monday, 21 January, 2019 @ 13:09:36 »
Today is Blue Monday, or rather, it's not.

Blue Monday: a depressing day of pseudoscience and humiliation

Its creator, Dr Cliff Arnall, devised it for a travel firm. He has since admitted that it is meaningless (without actually saying it's wrong).

Dr Arnall is usually described as a Cardiff University psychologist. To be a Cardiff University psychologist you usually have to be employed/publish research from Cardiff School of Psychology, hence I can claim to be one. Dr Arnall briefly taught some psychology-related evening classes at the university's adult education centre. Apparently, this makes him a Cardiff University psychologist. Using that logic, I'm an Asda manager because I once made one of their staff fetch me a discount chicken.
https://www.theguardian.com/science/blog/2012/jan/16/blue-monday-depressing-day-pseudoscience

Blue Monday is a name given to a day in January (typically the third Monday of the month) claimed to be the most depressing day of the year. The concept was first publicised as part of a 2005 press release from holiday company Sky Travel, which claimed to have calculated the date using an equation. It takes into account weather conditions and thus only applies to the Northern Hemisphere.

The idea is considered pseudoscience, with its formula derided by scientists as nonsensical.